THE DAVE TURPIN TROPHY

The Dave Turpin Trophy is awarded annually at the Christmas Party and Awards Evening to a club member who has made a massive contribution to the club over the years (not just the last 12 months) in memory of one of our past members. Often this has been given for organising teams, administering club events like the Baildon Boundary Way race or social occasions, producing the club newsletter, increasing the profile of the club and too many other examples to mention. The trophy may only be awarded once to any recipient. Winners of the trophy are listed below.

2000	John Rolfe-Dickinson for organising several long distance relays such as the Dales Way, Coast to Coast and Pennine Way. John wrote much of the club newsletter and delivered paper copies of it by hand to one and all by hand; this was before the days of email! He also made a very eloquent and moving tribute to
	Dave Turpin at his funeral.
2001	Dave Crane for his involvement with team events, assisting with the Baildon
	Boundary Way including marking out the course and Thursday night route planning and announcing. Stepping into the breach to take over Tuesday night training.
2002	Malcolm Sharp for keeping the Sunday morning weekly runs going after the formal series of beginners' classes finished. He continued to encourage and advise
	the beginners and turned the Sunday morning meetings into a popular event, and was also instrumental in organising the Winter League by attending meetings and
2003	encouraging people to run. Jane Dooley for her marketing exploits in the recruitment side of the club. She
2003	actively promoted the club particularly on Sunday mornings when she would approach unattached runners and convince them of the merits of joining Baildon Runners.
2004	John Cawley for his contribution to the club over many years, but more recently having performed the duties of treasurer, newsletter producer, collator of race results, webmaster, entries secretary for the Baildon Boundary Way and responsible for email communications in the same period.
2005	Eric Binns for his contribution to the club over the past 8 years on the Committee, having served as club secretary and treasurer. The beginner training sessions
2225	were Eric's 'baby' and brought many new members to the club.
2006	David Noble for his contribution to the club in firmly establishing the Tuesday night sessions in the running week and greatly increasing the number of members regularly taking part.
2007	Sue Coates for her contribution to the club in always being there to encourage and cheer others on when she couldn't compete herself, for masterminding the resurrection of the Baildon Carnival Canter and being instrumental in introducing tracksuits, waterproof jackets and newly designed running vests.
2008	Debra Kaznowski for her contribution to the club over many years, in particular Debra organised all the social events such as the Dales trip and the Christmas party and raised funds for the club by way of the monthly lottery draw.
2009	Quentin Lewis for representing the club in races and performing at a very high level and encouraging others to join/raise their game. Top performer in Winter League for many seasons. Too many impressive performances to name.
2010	Andrew Travis for his work with the summer championship and the introduction of age grading, also for having taken on the unenviable task of administering the Baildon Boundary Way results each year.

2011	Doreen Noble for going beyond the call of duty despite not being in a position to
	run with us. For many years she held the dual roles of membership secretary and
	treasurer and kept the administrative cogs of the club running smoothly. She also
	plays a pivotal role in organising the Baildon Boundary Way and other events
	including the 'no watch' night and the Baildon Carnival Canter.
2013	Geoff Perigo for keeping the club running smoothly from organising Sunday
	morning sessions to sorting out away nights to Thursday night announcements,
	always being there to help with the Dales Trip, Christmas party, sending emails
	out and keeping the club website up to its excellent standard.
	lan Ferris for his tireless work for the club for years; in particular his work with the
	beginners group on a Saturday morning where people with little or no experience
	of running are encouraged to stick at it and learn some very useful techniques,
	many such beginners have become confident enough to join our Tuesday and
	Thursday night training and go on to represent the club in many races.
	Dave Lonsdale for quietly making a massive contribution over a period of 5 years
	to the smooth running of the club as Treasurer and Membership Secretary. This
	latter role has been a very busy one with an increasing membership to register, a
2015	process run very efficiently and a credit to his dedication.
2015	Alan Clements for his service on the committee for several years and his work
	with the joint rugby/cricket club committee in negotiating a good deal for
	Baildon Runners. Also his willingness to open up the clubhouse and bar even
	when not running and his 'behind the scenes' work in connection with the
2016	Baildon Boundary Way.
2016	Paul Baildon for his contribution to the club over many years latterly as a
	committee member, club treasurer and organiser of club events such as the 'no watch' night and his quiet 'behind the scenes' work such as constructing the
	podium for the Olympics relay, preparing the field and tent for the Carnival Canter
	and single-handedly cooking the burgers at club barbecues.
2017	Denise Johnson for her support of all runners, her work with the Yorkshire
2017	Veterans' races, her devotion to OGOBS, the organisation of the club's summer
	handicap race and much more.
2018	Linda Carey for being a brilliant ambassador for the club in her unwavering
2016	support for everything going on, even turning up on crutches following a hip
	replacement operation, but particularly for taking on the role of Club Secretary a
	couple of years ago when no-one else had stepped into the role and for holding
	the club together magnificently ever since.
2019	Jackie Walters who, for nearly a decade, has given her time and energy to the
	club serving on the committee, organising rotas, acting as chief marshal in the
	Baildon Boundary Way, training to be one of our senior coaches, helping run the
	Saturday sessions and organising the trips to Europe.
2020	Not awarded due to the Coronavirus pandemic.
2021	Elinor Newhouse for her years of dedication to leading Group E on a Thursday
2021	night and for her long commitment to the Roberts Park Saturday morning training
	sessions. She offers support to new runners and is a role model to all.
	Joe Percival for his service as a committee member, for improving the club
	technical and communications systems, for the successful Baildon Boundary Way
	in November 2020 in extremely challenging circumstances and for keeping the
	members safe during the pandemic in his role as Club Covid Coordinator.

2022	Richard Lund for organising lots of events, general enthusiasm and
	encouragement and support for all runners throughout the running calendar year,
	being fully committed and involved in all things, having a genuine passion for the
	club which manifests into many hours spent dealing with additional tasks
	alongside those that fall within his role of Membership Secretary.
2023	Sarah Anderton for putting in 100% effort and commitment for the club at every
	level, much work done behind the scenes. Takes part in all running competitions
	and social events. A good communicator and ambassador for Baildon Runners,
	leading the club by example.